The Novels of David Chandler

Honor Among Thieves Available Now!

Honor Among Thieves, the third volume of David Chandler’s Ancient Blades trilogy, is on sale as of November 29, 2011!

(Spoilers ahead!  You have been warned)

In this third volume, the entire Kingdom of Skrae has fallen under attack by the barbarians of the east, led by the traitorous Morget (last seen in A Thief in the Night).  Sir Croy must take charge of the scattered Ancient Blade order, while Malden returns to the Free City of Ness to try to salvage (i.e., steal) whatever stability and calm (i.e., whatever’s not bolted down) he can.

Meanwhile, Cythera is reunited with her mother, the witch Coruth… only to find that her destiny has caught up with her…

Don’t miss this culminating chapter of the exciting trilogy!  Get it now wherever books are sold, either online or in brick and mortar bookstores near you!

David Chandler at New York Comicon 10/15/11

David Chandler, author of the Ancient Blades trilogy, will appear at New York Comic Con for the panel “Winter is Coming”.  He’ll be discussing epic fantasy with several other authors and will be happy to sign books and meet fans afterwards.

The panel is on Saturday, October 15th, starting at 6:30 PM at location 1A15.  More information can be found here.

A Thief in the Night Available Now!

The second volume of the Ancient Blades trilogy is available now, in bookstores and from online retailers.  This volume picks up where Den of Thieves left off, continuing the adventures of Malden, Croy and Cythera, and also introducing new characters like the devious Balint, the barbarous Morget, and a whole race of people long thought dead…

When an uncouth barbarian from the Eastern Steppes shows up in the City of Ness talking of demons who lair in an ancient dwarven city beneath the mountains, Croy jumps at the chance to once more put his sword Ghostcutter to its intended use.  Malden the thief is less enthusiastic, of course, for the underground labyrinth is most assuredly haunted, and all good thieves know to avoid the supernatural (there’s no profit in it).  Yet when a crazed assassin comes looking for Malden’s head, a little jaunt in the countryside begins to sound like an attractive proposition…

You won’t want to miss this exciting new installment in the series.  Pick it up now, and get ready for volume 3, Honor Among Thieves, coming in December 2011!  Click here to find out more!

UK Editions

I’ve seen the UK editions of all three books now… and they’re gorgeous.

As much as I love the art on the covers of the American editions, the UK editions have a continuous mosaic thing going on, where the cover of each book matches up with the cover of the next.  Which matches up with how the books were written, where each is a standalone story but together they make up an over-arcing story.

The UK editions are also slightly larger in size, and have foil on the spines and titles.

I love ’em!

BTW, if you’re lucky enough to live in the UK, you can buy all three books right now, rather than having to wait all of two months like us in America…

David Chandler on “Hour of the Wolf” Radio Program

Wednesday, August 3rd at 1:30 AM, I’ll be on Jim Freund’s “Hour of the Wolf” program on WBAI FM.  “Hour of the Wolf” is probably the longest running radio show dedicated to science fiction and fantasy books and it’s a great show in general.  The show should be archived here after it runs, in case you can’t tune in.

I’ll be reading a short story as well as discussing all my books, both horror and fantasy.  Should be a lot of fun!

It’s Here!

The day has finally come!  Den of Thieves is available online and at bookstores everywhere.  If you pre-ordered, you have our eternal gratitude.  If you haven’t gotten a copy yet, what are you waiting for?

Den of Thieves available July 26th!

The release date for David Chandler’s new fantasy novel Den of Thieves has been moved up to July 26th.  Get in on the action now–preorders are available everywhere books are sold, and actual physical copies will be available in less than a week.  We can’t wait!

For more on this book, check the Book page of this site.

Den of Thieves available for Preorder Now!

The first novel of David Chandler’s Ancient Blades trilogy will be released on July 26th, 2011, both in paperback and ebook form.

Den of Thieves is the story of Malden, a poor thief growing up in the Free City of Ness, and the trouble he gets himself into when he tries to steal the crown of the city’s ruling lord.  It is a story of ancient swords and diabolical sorcery, a triumph of energy and action, of heroes and rogues.

Though Den of Thieves is a standalone novel, it fits into the elaborate mosaic of the Ancient Blades trilogy, three volumes that tell an overarching story of epic proportions.  Fans won’t have to wait for years to know what happens next, either: the second volume,A Thief in the Night, will be released in October 2011, quickly followed by the third volume, Honor Among Thieves, in December.

Now’s your chance to discover a world of magic and mayhem, and get in on the ground floor of a story Dave Duncan says “takes off like a startled cat and never stops.”